MPE Certification Scheme

  1. Legal Requirement

The Basic Safety Standards Directive, transposed by The Ionising Radiation (Medical Exposure) Regulations 2017 in England, Scotland and Wales and by The Ionising Radiation (Medical Exposure) Regulations 2018 in Northern Ireland requires Medical Physics Experts (MPEs) to be recognised by the Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC) which is the competent authority for medical exposures.

DHSC has appointed RPA2000 to act as the authorised Assessing Body for MPE recognition.

Any person wishing to act as a Medical Physics Expert must:

  1. gain a Certificate of Competence from RPA2000 (see details below)
  2. be on the list of MPEs that have been entitled to act in that capacity by an employer under IR(ME)R 2000 between 1st July and 31st December 2017.

MPE Transition Scheme Now Open

Applications are now invited for the Transition Scheme (administered by IPEM) for those on the list to be added to the list of those holding an MPE Certificate of Competence issued by RPA2000.  Closing date: 31st August 2021. Applications received after this date will not be processed and these individuals will no longer be entitled to act as a Medical Physics Expert.

Certificates from RPA2000 are valid for a period of five years. Discussion on renewal of certificates is ongoing and will be agreed once transition of all those on the list has taken place.

  1. Applications for initial certification to act as an MPE

Applicants for initial certification by RPA2000 will require:

MPE Application Form  (MPE1)

Instructions for the Creation of the Portfolio of Evidence (MPE2)

DHSC Syllabus for MPEs  (this is also found within the application form)

They are also advised to consult the following generic RPA2000 documents:

Operating Procedures (G1)

General Information (G2)

Meeting timescales if requested for further information (GD3)

Applications to act as MPE assessors are invited.  Please see the role descriptor and the application form.